We always invite to Thanksgiving dinner any soldiers from our unit who can’t go home for various reasons – we can’t leave them to eat pizzas in the barracks! You probably have your Thanksgiving menu all planned out already, but just in case, I’m sharing my menu for that meal, too.

Meal Plan for November Week 4

1 Roasted Sweet Potato Soup: Monday’s meal, meatless as always around here, is going to be Roasted Sweet Potato Soup with a side of toasted naan bread. If you have time, peel and dice more sweet potatoes Friday’s meal, as well. Why naan with this soup? Well, because whenever I taste curry powder (which flavors this soup), I get a hankering for the stuff. I buy mine pre-baked at my local supermarket and pop it into the oven to crisp up. Since this recipe calls for chicken stock, and since I’m sure you’ll probably need some for later on in the week, consider making one of the versions outlined in this post. Freeze what you don’t need this week. 2 Flank Steak Stir-Fry with Asparagus and Red Pepper: Quick meals on busy weeknights makes life flow seamlessly. Take this Flank Steak Stir Fry with Asparagus and Red Pepper, for instance. Asparagus is still readily available in most parts of the country, but you can easily substitute it with green beans or broccoli. I also appreciate how quickly this recipe comes together. Serve it with some rice and there’s nothing else needed. 3 Quiche Lorraine: The Wednesday before Thanksgiving is crazy – even for chefs like me. Everything is being prepped, cooked, or baked, so you may find yourself a bit overwhelmed. If you feel this way, then this Quiche Lorraine is a gift that keeps on giving. Double the pie dough recipe and you’ll have enough to make your Thanksgiving pie. You could also double the recipe and make enough quiche for tonight’s dinner and tomorrow’s breakfast! Quiche is also a great make-ahead meal – if you have time to make it over the weekend, just stash it in the fridge and pull it out for tonight’s meal. I serve my quiche with a side salad for dinner, or with fresh fruit if I’m serving it for breakfast. Bacon will also be used in Fridays meal this week, so purchase a bit more and reserve a quarter pound for later. 4 Thanksgiving!!! Okay, it’s game time! The big day has arrived and we’re ready to go forth and conquer the dinner table! Maybe, I take Thanksgiving Day too seriously, but whatevs. Mom’s Roast Turkey along with this Green Bean Casserole – my hubby’s favorite – are both on the menu. Alongside of those, I’m serving Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes (no babysitting required; it will stay warm for a few hours). And then I’ll finish the feast with this Apple Slab Pie. Oh! When you’re at the store picking up mushrooms for the green bean casserole, be sure to get an pound for tomorrow’s meal, as well. Done, and done! Happy Thanksgiving!! 5 Sweet Potato, Mushroom, and Leftover Turkey Casserole: Friday is food coma day. I’m taking it easy after a busy week with this Sweet Potato, Mushroom, Leftover Turkey Casserole. Having purchased and prepped most of the ingredients for this casserole during the week, I’m all set for a day of Christmas decorating in my jammies! How about you? When do you start setting up for the Christmas season?