Single-parenting and being responsible for keeping us all fed and happy is no joke. One needs a reprieve from the daily demands life puts on us. This is why I’m such a proponent of meal planning. As the wife of a soldier in the U.S. Army, a homeschool mom of twin tweenagers (hello, Drama, how I’ve missed you), and a full-time blogger and small-business owner, nothing calms my nerves like knowing my meals for the week are planned and shopped for – and sometimes even prepped and ready to go! Here’s what my crew will be enjoying this week!

Meal Plan for November Week 2

1 Pressure Cooker Butternut Squash Soup: Since Mondays are what they are (agony), I need something quick and painless. Our twin’s troop meetings fall on Monday, so a labor-intensive meal is a no-go. This soup makes busy days bearable because I can make it in the Instant Pot. While it cooks, I make some toasted naan to serve alongside for a well-rounded, meatless meal. If I have extra time before the soup is ready, I also chop up any of the veggies (like the onions and carrots) for upcoming meals to alleviate any time-crunches that tend to arise during the week. 2 Chicken Milanese: I’ve usually gotten into more of a flow by Tuesday, so I feel up for preparing a meal that takes a bit more effort. The cool thing about this Chicken Milanese is how quickly and easily it comes together, but still impresses my family. I love the use of Panko crumbs to give the chicken a lighter, crispier crunch. This meal always pairs well with a fresh garden salad and a side of Easy Buttered Noodles. When I make anything with chicken breast, I’m careful to scan the weekly menu to see where else I can use it. Today, I’ll cook two extra breasts for my Friday meal! 3 Pumpkin Chili: With the change in the weather, I’m loving the thought of adding more soups and stews to our menus. Since we’re in the thick of pumpkin season, this hearty Pumpkin Chili is so meaty that it feels like a full meal. For a hungry soldier and ravenous children, this recipe and a double-batch of Yankee Cornbread (I’m a Yankee, after all!) are the perfect combo for our hump-day meal. 4 Easy Shepherd’s Pie: Casseroles, when done well, are a godsend. Being able to combine ingredients to create a balanced meal in one dish is the work of a genius, I tell ya’! I’ll use the onions and carrots that I chopped up earlier in the week to make this Easy Shepherd’s Pie – a meal in a pan. I’ll add any leftover cornbread from yesterday to this meal. 5 Grilled Chicken Nachos: We’ve survived another week! I’m celebrating by renting some movies and making a quick meal using the chicken breast I cooked earlier this week. These Grilled Chicken Nachos means fewer dishes and less time in the kitchen. If I can swing it, I’ll also make a batch of No Churn Pumpkin Spice Ice Cream for sundaes later on! What’s your take on casseroles? Yea or nay?