But I figured it out! If you want an exceptionally creamy filling in quiche, use all heavy cream. That might seem obvious, but in all my quiches before this, I used either a mix of cream and milk or all half-and-half, and it was never quite right. I’ve found that you also need to pay attention to the egg-to-cream ratio: 1/4 cup of cream per egg is just right. I now make my quiches by beating four eggs with a single cup of heavy cream. In the spring when asparagus is at its peak, I add blanched spears and tiny cubes of Fontina cheese to my quiche. It’s one of my favorite combinations! I like to make quiche in a traditional white porcelain tart pan (my classic 9 1/2-inch pan with 1 1/2-inch-high sides has a 1-quart capacity). I think the pastry turns especially flaky when baked in porcelain. You can also use a French fluted pan with a removable base, or a regular glass or metal pie pan. If your pie pan holds a greater capacity than 1-quart, add more liquid using the ratio of 1 egg per 1/4 cup heavy cream. I like to slice the quiche into thin little wedges when I have guests for brunch. This way, the tart can serve six with other dishes on the table. See if this recipe becomes your new favorite quiche, too! Lift it onto the rolling pin and gently ease it into a 9 1/2 or 10-inch porcelain tart pan. Press the dough all around the bottom edge so it sticks to the pan. With scissors, cut the pastry around the top edge so it has an even 1-inch overhang. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until the top edge of the pastry is beginning to take on some color. Lift off the paper or foil and beans, and set aside. Return the pie crust to the oven and continue baking for 5 to 10 minutes, or until the bottom of the dough is beginning to cook through. If the dough forms puffs, prick them with the tip of a knife. Set on a wire rack to cool. Leave the oven on. Bring a saucepan of water to a boil. Add the asparagus and cook for 1 minute. Drain and transfer the asparagus to ice water to cool. Dry the asparagus with paper towels. Set aside 3 asparagus tips to garnish the quiche. Halve the remaining pieces lengthwise. The quiche can be served immediately, or once cool, cover and refrigerate for up to 5 days. Quiche can be served cold, room temperature, or warm. (If serving warm, heat in a 300°F oven until just warm to the touch.)